Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The Doctrine of Creation & Theories of Evolution

Mar 15 at 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Angelicum Thomistic Institute – Science & Religion Online Series

The Doctrine of Creation & Theories of Evolution

Kenneth Kemp
University of St. Thomas

15 March 2022
7pm (Rome) / 6pm (London) / 2pm (New York)

Language: English

According to a popular view of evolution and creation, the two ideas are alternative, indeed contradictory, answers to the question of origins. In fact, there is no contradiction between the two, as careful attention to each idea shows. In this talk, Dr. Kemp clarifies the idea of creation, specifying its doctrinal content and the leading alternatives to it. Then, he clarifies the idea of evolution, both by exposition of its logical structure and by contrasting it with other kinds of scientific theory. These clarifications show that the proper relation between creation and evolution is not contradiction, but complementarity.

Kenneth W. Kemp is emeritus professor of philosophy at the University of St. Thomas, St. Paul, Minnesota, USA. His academic degrees include an M.A. in the history & philosophy of science and a Ph.D. in philosophy, both from the University of Notre Dame. His previous work includes articles on monogenesis, naturalism, miracles, and faith, as well as a book entitled The War That Never Was. He is currently working on a book on the history of the Catholic evolutionism.

Related Content

Details

Date:
Apr 14
Time:
10:30 pm
Event Tags:
en_USEnglish