The teaching of Thomas Aquinas inspires the theological formation offered by the Faculty of Theology. Its programmes offer intellectual and spiritual formation for seminarians, priests, religious, and laity who will be charged with teaching or holding positions of leadership in their dioceses, in their parishes, and in other ecclesiastical institutions, as well as for those who desire to study and understand theological principles and their application.


The Angelicum’s Faculty of Theology has its historical roots in the “College of Saint Thomas at Santa Maria sopra Minerva”, founded in 1577 by Mons. Juan Solano. Since that time, it has been a centre of excellence in formation and study for the Dominican Order. As an institution of significance for the whole Family of Saint Dominic, the Angelicum makes particular, though not exclusive, use of the collaboration of teachers belonging to this religious family, who come from various regions of the world.

Titles conferred

The Faculty offers the following academic degrees:


The Faculty of Theology offers three successive Cycles of studies, each one terminating with the conferment of an academic degree: the Baccalaureate, the Licentiate and the Doctorate.


1. The First Cycle, three years, ordered to the attainment of the Baccalaureate in Theology, offers a synthetic presentation of all the fundamental theological questions, together with an introduction to the scientific method of the various theological disciplines.


2. The Second Cycle, ordered to the acquisition of the Diploma in Pastoral Theology (one year) or the Licentiate in Theology (two years), provides the possibility of specializing in a particular sector of the theological sciences.


3. The Third Cycle, two years, ordered to the attainment of the Doctorate in Theology, enables the student to reach a certain theological maturity by means especially of the preparation of a doctoral dissertation which will contribute to the progress of theological science.


The Faculty of Theology, moreover, offers Diploma Programs in Spirituality and Interreligious Dialogue.


The Faculty proposes a personalized plan of study for the ongoing theological-spiritual formation of priests, religious men and women, as well as for the laity.


Teaching is entrusted to 13 tenured and about 60 non-tenured professors; among the latter figure invited professors, coming from prestigious universities around the world.


Among the distinguished Professors in the past who have brought great prestige to the Faculty, leaving behind a precious heritage for today, we may note:


R. Garrigou-Lagrange O.P.;
F. Ceuppens O.P.;
J. Vosté O.P.;
L. Cordovani O.P;
L. B. Gillon O.P.;
D. Mongillo O.P.


The students number about 500 from around 90 countries. Of these about 70% are priests, seminarians or religious men and women, while about 30% are laity.


Students formed in the Faculty and who later made significant contributions to the sacred sciences and to the Church of our time include: M. D. Chenu O.P.; D. Pire O.P. (Nobel Prize for Peace, 1958); K.Wojtyła (John Paul II); J.-M. Tillard O.P. and about 100 others who are Cardinals, Archbishops or Bishops.